RSS Feed

Been on the blood sugar roller coaster

If you have PCOS you are more than likely Insulin Resistant, isnt that a groovy symptom? What does that mean? Well I’m not an expert, I only know the outcome. When I don’t eat correctly for me, my blood sugar levels become high ( but not to diabetic levels) so than I have to eat to correct the situation and let them lower. See this chart for more info BLOOD SUGAR .  there are times, like this week that when I get hungry it hits fast and hard. It as if I haven’t eaten all day and the hunger will not go away. It is times like this that make staying in 1600 Calories a little hard, but I am learning to buffer for it. LOTS of protein and fresh veggies/fruit.  I am also learning that exercise keeps it in check as well. So I’m sure sitting in a car for almost 24 hours and not getting enough sleep is the main suspect in my hunger monster. I think the part that is the most frustrating is waking up at 3 am, so hungry that the fridge looks good enough to eat. In the past I would grab what ever I could find to eat ; candy bar, cookies, cake… whatever. Going through this process I have learned that, those items do make me feel better for the moment but I suffer a serious crash and have to repeat the cycle again. It kind of reminds me of what I think being a drug user would be like. Because sometimes I feel like I just need a “fix” of food and when I eat it, I can feel my body respond in an almost euphoric way.  Its strange. But as I am figuring things out ( and yes I have been at this a year and am still learning what works and what doesn’t) I try my hardest to make sure I have high protein items on hand to keep the crash from happening. Also another factor that plays into this whole scheme of things are hormones, about 2 weeks prior to my cycle I go through this hunger monster situation. Good times Good times.. I wonder if other women with PCOS go thru this on a monthly basis.

 

MoodALIVE!!!  ever have a day where you start off thinking huh Im not doing very good on my goals and then you do something you were never able to do before and you think YES YES!! this is what I have been working so hard for! Its a great day to be alive!!!  That was my day!

Sneak peek into what I put in my belly:

up at 3 am – ate a snackaroo170/2

prework-out  smoothie – steel cut oats, peaches, coconut milk  183.5/3.8

during work out – 1/2 banana 52.5/.5

Post workout – Garden of Life Raw Protein, coconut milk, peaches, banana, greek gods plain yogurt 395/24

Lunch –  Herb Salami, Monterey Jack Cheese, hummus, Snap Peas 338/17

Dinner – Spicy Tuna roll, and Miso Soup 315.5/25.06

S- Cacao Milk and Pecan Butter 143.25/2

Total – 1598/75

Today was a workout day!!! Oi am I going to be sore! Lots of upper body work! But I will have sexy arms!!!

Have a wonderful night!

 

About Belles Food Exposed

Danielle Fiddy, raised in Sacramento, Ca as a kid my parents where what some call nutrition freaks, my mom made our bread daily and we didn't eat white flour or sugar. This is back before being healthy was cool! Now I am an adult and I get to learn how to do these things myself. I was diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 25, through trial and error I an finding my way to become as healthy as I can. This blog is my journey.

One response »

  1. I like this blog very much, Its a very nice spot to read and obtain information. “Solitude is fine, but you need someone to tell you that solitude is fine.” by Honore’ de Balzac.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

