RSS Feed

Seared Ahi and such..

I have thought about what I was making for dinner since Wednesday.. I knew I was making Taco bowls for dinner on Thursday but I was excited to try something new today. Now today is here and it was as much fun as I hoped.

First I took a trip to Sur La Table, which is a fabulous store. I think this was the first store where my father in law and I realized we both had something in common, a passion for creating flavors! So maybe, for me, this store has more meaning than any other kitchen store.  I have tried for 16 years to find that one common interest with him and go from there, the kitchen is it, who knew!? It was a fun day, last summer, where we both discovered our love for Woks, Cast Iron Dutch ovens and Bamboo utensils.  I think we bored my mother in law, but we couldn’t see past our own frying pan to notice. We sat and listen to a guy ramble on about knives, they were beautiful. They had really cool swirly designs in them and then he told us the price of $300, for one.. woo.. we will keep looking! That night we went home and whipped up Stir Fry, it was oh so good! I think we spent the weekend in the kitchen trying new things. He discovered Whole Foods and the wonders of samples.  It was a foodies weekend.

Anyhoo back on track, I decided I wanted to make Seared Ahi. I know it sounds simple but I am still trying to get away from my safe basics and venture into new foodie items. So I hunted and searched and a few people gave me ideas and then I went into my kitchen to see what I had. I gathered my goodies and created a pretty darn yummy dinner. Of course it being me I also like simple! Let me tell ya this was simple and clean up was a snap! I decided to only use peppercorn and Himalayan sea salt on the Ahi aand seared if for about 2 minutes on each side. Then I made a sauce with Soy Sauce, Coconut Vinegar( tastes nothing like coconut) fresh ginger, garlic, a smidge of maple syrup and red crushed peppers. I heated the sauce, over med heat, just enough to get the flavors to mesh.  I used my rice cooker to make Jasmine rice, my fave.  Sauteed some asparagus in a little butter and lemon with a hint of sea salt. Last I thin sliced some avocado.

I used a large round cookie cutter to make my rice patty, then topped the rice with avocado and then layered the seared Ahi to top it off I gently sprinkled the sauce on top and the asparagus was a side dish. Not to bad for my first try. Of course it got more ideas in my head for next time!

Here is the finished product:

Earlier in the day I totally cheated and made scones from a mix! I have never made scones so I wanted to see what the texture of the batter is suppose to be like, so I can mess with it. They didn’t turn out to bad. But then it was a ‘just add water’ deal.

Add a little homemade jam and these guys are pretty tasty..

Mood – Way better day than yesterday! I feel accomplished and motivated.

here is what is in my belly:

B – 2 eggs, 3 slices Turkey bacon and a slice of cibatta bread 336/34.1

L – Left over taco bowl – turkey meat, avocado, cheese, lettuce and 2 corn torts 410/28

S – scone with HM blueberry jam with HM Chai (zero cals!) 140/3

D – 4 oz Seared Ahi, avocado, jasmine rice and asparagus. I also had Jasmine green tea 377/38.46

S- Cheesecake with 1/2 c blueberries 337/7

Total – 1600/111

Gerber Daisys are my Favorite flower , so since yesterday I was having a crappy day I went out and bought myself one. It is so pretty. I have never seen one with these colors. Pink in the middle and outer layer and white in the center. Perks up the dining room table.

About Belles Food Exposed

Danielle Fiddy, raised in Sacramento, Ca as a kid my parents where what some call nutrition freaks, my mom made our bread daily and we didn't eat white flour or sugar. This is back before being healthy was cool! Now I am an adult and I get to learn how to do these things myself. I was diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 25, through trial and error I an finding my way to become as healthy as I can. This blog is my journey.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a amusement account it. Look complex to far added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

