RSS Feed

Rainy Sunday!

Finally it rained and my headache is gone!!!! I slept most of the day so my food is a little off, I didn’t eat as much as I need to but what I did eat was so yummy.

A month or so ago I made a french toast bake, I had some at Whole foods and have been playing around with the ingredients to make it on the healthier side. Since the bread has enough carbs in it, I was aiming for something with not a lot of sugar or no sugar at all. So here is what I whipped up and if you need a little sweet go with a Pure Maple Syrup or Raw honey. But you may be surprised and find that the berries are sweet enough ( you can use any fruit)

French Toast Bake

Best made the night before.

Serving 6

6 Slices of Cracked Sourdough Bread

2 whole eggs

3/4 Cup egg whites

3/4 Cup Native Forest Coconut Milk (unsweetened)

3/4 Cup Frozen mixed Berries

1 Vanilla bean

1 tsp Nutmeg

1 tsp Cinnamon

nuts are optional

Mix eggs, coconut milk, nutmeg and cinnamon in a bowl.

Dip each slice of bread into the mixture (just like making french toast, dont worry about it getting to wet). one row of bread and berries until layered. The top layer is great if you cut the bread into squares, easier to make it crunchy!

If you have any egg mixture left pour over the french toast layers. Pop in the fridge and let sit over night.

In the am preheat your oven to 350 and let bake for 45 minutes. if the top isn’t crunchy turn on the broiler for 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Eat while warm and drizzle a little syrup if you like.

Enjoy!

total calories 1080/ 68 protein       approx. per serving 180c/6.8p

Today was a perfect day for sleeping, and there is nothing like breakfast in bed! Brent was sweet and got up before me, baked the french toast and served me in bed.. ahhh and it was just because!Still had a headache, ran some errands came home and took a long nap, I think I was out for about 4 hours. Woke with no headache! ahh relief.

B- French Toast bake with walnuts  344 (10.6)

L- Sushi Tuna Roll and half a albacore roll and Miso Soup 408.25 (14)

S – handful of walnut 164   (3.8)

D Baked Chicken, Coucous with ginger, Broccoli 450 (25)

S – Coconut Cream and blueberries  212 (2)

Total   1579 (52.8) <171>

Looking for a quick sweet with no sugar?  Here is something you can whip up right before dinner and let chill while you eat.

Id prefer a fresh coconut but I always have a can of unsweetened coconut milk on hand.

can of coconut milk, in a blender add vanilla bean and a little date syrup.

The can wont whip up like a fresh coconut but it will still come out a little thick.

Toss in some frozen fruit and WHAM you have a Fresh, Lite, and Yummy Dessert.

About Belles Food Exposed

Danielle Fiddy, raised in Sacramento, Ca as a kid my parents where what some call nutrition freaks, my mom made our bread daily and we didn't eat white flour or sugar. This is back before being healthy was cool! Now I am an adult and I get to learn how to do these things myself. I was diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 25, through trial and error I an finding my way to become as healthy as I can. This blog is my journey.

Leave a Reply

