RSS Feed

Don’t you love when you wake up with a purpose? Well today was one of those days for me.  What was my purpose? To make a sinful dessert that is healthy. Without realizing it, not only is it healthy but Vegan and Raw. I took lots of pics – I had so much fun! Then a friend of mine stopped by and was willing to be my tester. She was happy that it is no sugar (except the fruit and dates), Chocolate and Strawberries!!!! WOO HOO! Here is what I did, I used the Chocolate Coconut Chia Pudding ( you can find in one of my prior blogs) with Coconut Cream (an amazing version of whipped cream without the dairy – so if you are lactose intolerant – here ya go!) and of course Strawberries.

I have removed quite a bit of dairy from my daily diet, I have kept butter (minimal amounts), yogurt and cottage cheese. I haven’t been diagnosed as lactose intolerant and I don’t label myself that way. I have personally chosen to remove these items and I seem to feel better.

When I was doing the 30 days of Raw, I was experimenting with fresh coconut and accidentally made coconut cream! I love accidents like this! However I forgot about it, until I was talking with Step (trainer) and she said no whip cream.  Then is popped back in my head.

Ok enough chatter – here is what I did

Step 1 – I made the Chocolate Coconut Chia Pudding, put it in the fridge to let it set up ( I reduced it to 3 dates instead of the 4, last time it was a little to sweet)

Step 2 – Whip up the Cream – I used a nice fresh whole coconut (the price is  same as a can so why not go fresh?) I got one with white skin, vs the brown, just personal preference. If it is not pre-cut you can usually ask the store to cut it for you, if you don’t have a cleaver, this is what I did. It important when you open a coconut to pour the water into a separate container, to make sure it’s not spoiled. you don’t want to accidentally add bad water to your creation. If it is pink or purple toss it, it should smell nutty and fresh. Usually you can take it back and get a new one.

In a blender put the fresh coconut meat ( make sure it is cold). Add a little of the water until it becomes creamy like whip cream. While it is blending I like to add Vanilla Bean Pod. (Cut the vanilla bean pod down the middle and scrap the meaty center, use that part)If you need it sweeter add the date syrup. (if you think before hand you can make date syrup. Put 2 dates in a bowl with enough water to cover them let soak for at least an hour) I didn’t use any.  Once it is the texture of whip cream, scrap it into a bowl and put in the fridge.

Step 3 – Core the strawberries. put the strawberry meat in a separate bowl (I will show you how I used that later) I used a melon baller, made the perfect hole to put the pudding in.

Step 4 – Dip your Strawberries in the hard shell ( 1cup of dark chocolate, 1/2 cup coconut oil, melt in a double boiler, set aside and let cool a bit)  put the strawberries in the fridge until the chocolate is hard.

Step 5 – Once the Chocolate is hard fill the strawberry holes with 1 Tbs of Pudding and put back in the fridge.

Last Step!!!!  Drizzle the Coconut cream over the Chocolate Strawberries. ENJOY!

Total Calories for a batch 800

Yields Approx 40 Strawberries

20 Cals per Strawberry

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response »

  1. I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

