RSS Feed

Meditation ~ is any form of a family of practices in which practitioners train their minds or self-induce a mode of consciousness to realize some benefit. In over 1,000 published research studies, various methods of meditation have been linked to changes in metabolism, blood pressure, brain activation, and other bodily processes.Meditation has been used in clinical settings as a method of stress and pain reduction ( taken form wikipedia)

With that being said…

Today was a very odd day for me, woke with an unexplained headache, then it subsided so I got up and headed to my fave store, Whole Foods, half way through I had a major anxiety attack ( and yes I have been to the Dr and diagnosed with them, however after being numb for 10 years, I decided to get off Celexa but that is another story for another day)  so I finished up what I was doing and got the hell out of there – of course now I have to drive home. Excitement!

As soon as I got home I decided the best course of action was to go outside, lay in the sun and meditate.  Of course the goal in meditation is to not think and make to do lists. So I decide to allow the sounds around me, birds chirping, soothe me.

When I first started meditating I had a hard time sitting still long enough to relax. I was told light a candle and watch the flame, but then I would wonder what if things caught on fire? How long is this candle going to burn? so instead I decided to burn half a stick of incense. I would find the scent that mellowed me out and let it burn, knowing that when it stopped burning my time was up so to speak. I have now graduated to a full stick.. in a time demand society where everything is quick quick or there is an app for it – you just cant rush an incense stick or meditation.

So back to today, I lay out a blanket in my backyard and light my incense.  Birds are chirping.  I close my eyes and have to clear my head, so deep breathing come into play – clear out the thoughts on the exhale and bring in the surrounding on the my inhale. Eventually I can hear the tree leaves rustling, I think the coolest sound is of palm leaves blowing in the wind… Eventually not thinking is no prob and my anxiety attack has stopped and I am calm.  I have left my phone in the house, if it rings I cant hear it nor do I care.  By the time the incense is done I am a new person! the sun was warm and amazing – so getting a lil Vita D along the way never hurts.. considering it is what helps with depression!

I slowly come back to reality and all is well. Didnt have to pop a pill and my senses are alert.Its amazing what 15 mins of meditaiton will do for you!

For those of you that know me, you know that I am a total gemstone junkie! for those that dont know that about me – you know now!

Of course I laid out stones to help me relax, today I chose to do a simple Clear Quartz lay out.  4 Stones pointing in the N, E ,W, S  positions to bring in the energy from all directions.

Why Quartz? It is the Universal Stone. Quartz enhances energy by absorbing, storing, amplifying, balancing, focusing and transmitting. It channels universal energy. Quartz also enhances thoughts, as they are a form of energy. Because it directs and amplifies energy, it is extremely beneficial for manifesting, healing, meditation, protection, and channeling. Due to its ability to balance, quartz is excellent for harmonizing and balancing one’s environment. Quartz is a stone of clarity which dispels negativity and clears away negative energy. It can be used to purify and clarify on the spiritual, mental, and physical planes. It is also powerfully protective

 

( I have included some pics)

3 responses »

  1. You must take part in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I’ll advocate this website!

    Reply
  2. I’d must verify with you here. Which is not one thing I normally do! I enjoy studying a submit that will make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

