Good News from the Chiropractor!

I go to the Chiropractor twice a month. May sound like a lot but I use to go 4 times a week and not by choice. About 4 years ago I rotated L4, L5 in my spine and have been with this Dr ever since. If it wasn’t for him Id have a fused spine and limited rotation, not my idea of life. How did I do such a thing? Gee I wish I had a really good story like I was playing baseball and bases were loaded, I decided to steal home plate slide in and Bam spinal injury. But no that’s not it. Or even I was drunk one night and dancing on the bar and decided to play like I was at Coyote ugly and slide across the bar and fell off, but nah nothing like that. Me, ya I slipped getting out of the shower, mm hmm plain and simple. No bath mat on the floor, cause I was doing laundry, did a reach for the towel and SLIP and POP, there ya have it. Nothing exciting, except it laid me up in bed for 6 months and 4 years of Chiropractic care. I love my chiropractor, he is amazing. I found out during this process that a lot of baseball players suffer from this injury, but since they are in shape bounce back from it. I however was far from being in shape when I injured myself.I was lucky to find a Dr that specializes in sports injuries and works with athletes to get them back up and playing their game.

When I decided to start working out with a trainer he gave me a look and said ok well we will see how you do.. cause by this point he knew that the word No was not an option. That’s where it all began. I have been with my trainer a year this last Feb, if anyone thinks that you get in shape over night, you have been watching to many movies. I have had a couple of set backs in the process, but for the most part I keep moving forward. (oh and I always have a bath mat when I get out of the shower)

Today I went to him and asked the usual questions, did you work out last week? what did you do? how are you feeling? etc… So I told him that after my workout last week ( the day of oh so many push ups) I was watching a movie on Friday night and kept feeling a twinge in my lower back and couldn’t get comfortable and was concerned that maybe I over did it. So I laid on his table and he poked around, started his usual adjustment and asked so How does this feel I said um a little tender but otherwise ok – This is where the good news comes in!! He says Wow You have never had this much movement in your lower back, all the core work you are doing is paying off you are finally creating space in the spine and lessening the compression. This is very exciting for me! It is what I have been working for, because in my world this means less pain on a daily basis. So I asked what was with the twinge? He said oh you had movement alright, but you had positive movement, you had a vertebra finally move back into place. YIPPEEE!!!!  Good News for me!

I know some people are leery of chiropractic care and that is ok – you have to do what is right for your body and trust who is working on you. But for me, I am thankful for my Dr and wouldn’t give him up.

Mood – Grateful and Energetic

Here is what is in my belly:

B – 3 eggs, 2 slices of bacon ( I used butter to cook the eggs) 369/24

L – Tuna with celery, greek style yogurt and mustard 320/24

Post Workout snack – 8oz Coconut milk, 1 scoop of protein, cacao powder and a banana – 275/20

Dinner – Chicken Breast, whole wheat pasta, red peppers, mushrooms and asparagus with lemon sauce   388/26.5

S- Skinny Cheesecake – 253/6

Totals – 1605/ 101

Workout

10 mins cardio (-112calories)

Strength training – 3 sets of each – Core Stabilization, Chest Fly on yoga ball, Back Fly – all with 2 – 2lb weights (ya work with what ya got!) Leg Lifts over yoga block, Front Raise 2/2lbs, Tri Extensions, flutter kick, scissor kick and 10 leg lifts with a 5 second hold.

This is not me.. just an example of a the chest fly I did today…. soon that will be me!!!!!!

About Belles Food Exposed

Danielle Fiddy, raised in Sacramento, Ca as a kid my parents where what some call nutrition freaks, my mom made our bread daily and we didn't eat white flour or sugar. This is back before being healthy was cool! Now I am an adult and I get to learn how to do these things myself. I was diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 25, through trial and error I an finding my way to become as healthy as I can. This blog is my journey.

One response »

  1. I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

    Reply

Leave a comment